Menu Close Menu

Driving While Impaired: DWI elements for conviction.

Convicting an individual for a crime is similar to following a recipe. Recipes require specific ingredients and crimes require specific elements. You could not make a batch of chocolate chip cookies without all the ingredients such as flour, sugar, eggs, chocolate chips, etc. Similarly, you cannot be convicted of a crime if the state cannot prove each and every element of the crime beyond a reasonable doubt.

To be convicted of driving while impaired (DWI) in Minnesota, the state must prove the following DWI elements:

  • Defendant drove, operated or physically controlled a motor vehicle on the roadways or boundary waters of the State of Minnesota,
  • Was driving under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance,
  • Was driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more as tested within two hours of operating a motor vehicle.

Degrees of DWI.
The State of Minnesota has four degrees of DWI that relate to the varying seriousness of the charge. These degrees range from 4th degree DWI, a misdemeanor offense, to 1st degree DWI, a felony offense. The punishment imposed depends on the degree of the DWI conviction, prior DWI convictions or prior driver's license revocations, and the presence of any aggravating factors.

Aggravating factors. Increased charges.
Each degree of the charge is determined by the presence or absence of aggravating factors. If you have been charged with a DWI and one or more aggravating factors are present, then the state may increase or intensify the degree of offense.This means that you could face increased jail time and fines, as well as stiffer Civil Consequences.

Aggravating factors for DWI convictions:

  • Driving with a blood alcohol concentration over .16;
  • Driving under the influence with someone under the age of 16 in the vehicle;
  • Having a prior alcohol-related offense on your record within the last 10 years;
  • Having a prior alcohol-related driver's license revocation on your record within the last 10 years.

Charged with a drunk driving crime? Contact Olson Defense.
Olson Defense is committed to providing aggressive and personal representation. Call us today for a free case consultation at 952.835.1088.

Olson Defense, PLLC

Olson logo blue

Whether you need assistance evaluating your DWI or criminal case, guidance on a current situation or advice when the police are at your door, legal help is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.

Contact Us Today

If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges or a DWI, contact Olson Defense. We are always glad to meet with you for a free consultation at our office, in the Twin Cities metro area, or any convenient location. If you find yourself in jail or any emergency situation, call Olson Defense before you talk to the police.