One of the forgotten penalties of a DWI conviction in Minnesota, is losing your license for a specified amount of time to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety. After receiving a DWI in the state of Minnesota, you are subject to losing your driver's license for at least 90 days. Work permits can be obtained for driving purposes during your license revocation; however, they are heavily restricted.
Here is a better understanding of the length of time your driver's license can be revoked in Minnesota depending on the severity and level of a DWI conviction:
* First-time offenders who record a blood-alcohol content (BAC) between .08 and .15 face a 90-day driver's license revocation period. Any first-time offender who records a BAC at or above .16 is subject to losing his or her driver's license for one year.
* If this is the offender's second DWI conviction within a 10-year period and his or her BAC is recorded between .08 and .15, the offender will face a minimum one year license revocation period. If the BAC test was recorded at twice the legal limit, .16 or above, the offender will face a minimum of two years without a driver's license.
* After recording two DWI's within a 10-year period and being arrested for a third offense, the offender is subject to a minimum of a three-year license revocation period.
* The length of time an offender's driver's license will be revoked only increases after multiple DWI arrests in the state of Minnesota. After four DWI's or qualified impaired driving incidents, the offender faces a driver's license revocation period of at least six years.
An experienced DWI attorney knows the ins and outs of these laws and can work with individuals arrested for DWI to help them overcome the obstacles that a DWI arrest presents. Contact Eric Olson if you have been arrested for a DWI in the state of Minnesota.